If you have ever been involved in an accident, you know that it can be quite scary, even for the the ones that involve very little damage. The more severe accidents can be incredibly costly in both damage and injuries suffered. There is a law in California that requires you to report the accident to the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if it meets certain criteria.
The law states that an accident must be reported to the state’s DMV within 10 days of it occurring if it meets any of the following criteria. Note that this goes for whether or not you were the at-fault driver in the crash.
- Damage to any vehicle involved in the crash of property totaled more than $750.
- The crash caused death or injury. This report can be filed by your attorney, by your insurance agent or by the person who has been designated on your behalf.
The following instances do not require the accident to be filed with the DMV:
- The accident happened on your property, involved no one else and did not cause injury or death.
- The accident involved vehicles not required by the law to be registered with the DMV and did not cause injury or death.
Failing to report an accident to the DMV in California can lead to the suspension of your license.
Have you been involved in a car accident in Pasadena? Does your accident meet any of the criteria mentioned in this post? If so, it’s best that you speak with an experienced personal injury attorney about your accident and how to go about filing with the DMV.
Source: DMV, “What To Do After a Car Accident in California,” accessed Dec. 01, 2017